The Manitoba Schools Boards Association has established a number of internal standing committees to assist with the regular work of the association. As well, the association is represented on many external standing committees, to ensure that the perspectives of school boards are heard and considered whenever decisions affecting students, schools or education are made. Most committee appointments are for a two-year term, and with some exceptions, committee members are eligible to serve a maximum of two consecutive terms.

This section contains the mandates of the association's standing committees, in alphabetical order, along with the current membership of both internal and external committees. The date of each member's initial appointment is also indicated.

Interested in volunteering for a committee? Download the Committee Volunteer Form, complete it, and submit it as indicated on the form.

Aboriginal & Indigenous Education Action Planning Committee

Mandate: the Aboriginal and Indigenous Education Planning Committee works in support of the association's goal to contribute to improved educational outcomes for aboriginal learners.


Holly Hunter, St. James-Assiniboia S.D. (November 2021)
Lena Kublick (Executive Liaison), Lord Selkirk S.D. (February 2015)
Penny Helgason, Evergreen S.D. (December 2018)
Murray Skeavington, Flin Flon S.D. (November 2018)
Lisa Makwebak, Park West S.D. (August 2020)

Convention Planning Committee

Mandate: to plan and oversee the delivery of the annual convention of the association. In fulfilling its mandate, the committee will work to advance association objectives and priorities, as established through policy and/or identified by the provincial executive.


Penny Helgason, Evergreen S.D. (November 2021)
Lena Kublick, Lord Selkirk S.D. (September 2018)
Vaughn Wadelius, Kelsey S.D. (September 2018)
Marg Walker, Fort La Bosse S.D. (June 2021)
Charlene Geiler, Red River Valley S.D. (June 2019)
Janis Arnold, association staff

Manitoba Public School Employees Benefits Trust

Mandate: to oversee and to manage the MSBA/MTS jointly trusteed Dental Plan for school divisions/districts personnel.


Julie Fisher, Pembina Trails S.D. (December 2012)
Patricia Wiebe, Border Land S.D. (March 2013)
Yolande Dupuis, DSFM (January 2015)
Jerry Sodomlak, River East Transcona (January 2015)
Morgan Whiteway, association staff

Finance/Audit Committee

Mandate: to oversee all material aspects of the association`s financial reporting, control and finance functions.

Members: all members of the provincial executive.

Manitoba Schools Insurance (MSI)

Mandate: to oversee and manage the operation of the Manitoba Schools Insurance (MSI).


Derek Dabee, Seven Oaks S.D. (June 2011)
Yolande Dupuis, DSFM (December 2010)
Fred Kelesnik, Red River Valley S.D. (December 2018)
Two Vacancies
Darren Thomas, association staff

MSBA Universal Standards Trust Fund (MUST)

Mandate: to assist participating member school divisions by defraying or covering the legal costs (excluding damages) involved in: protecting and furthering management rights/responsibilities, controlling salary considerations, or other employee/labour matters of provincial or regional implication.


Tim Davis, Flin Flon S.D. (term expires 2021)
Rod Brownlee, Portage la Prairie S.D. (term expires 2022)
Gary Nelson, Seine River S.D. (term expires 2022)
Marg Walker, Fort La Bosse S.D. (term expires 2022)
Chris Broughton, Winnipeg S.D. (term expires 2022)
One Vacancy
Justin Rempel, association staff

Nominating Committee

Mandate: to ensure that there is at least one qualified candidate who has consented to allow his/her name to stand for each of the following positions at the annual convention of the association: president, vice-president (6,000 students or more), vice-president (fewer than 6,000 students), and regional directors. Committee is comprised of the three (3) most recent past presidents who continue to serve as trustees.


Floyd Martens, Mountain View S.D. (First Past President)
Yolande Dupuis, DSFM (Second Past President)
Garry Draper, Fort La Bosse S.D. (Third Past President)

Pension Committee

Mandate: responsible for the overall administration, maintenance and operation of the MSBA Non-Teaching Employees Pension Fund, the Plan and the Administration Account as a Board of Trustees.


Colleen Carswell, River East Transcona S.D. (1999)
Louise Johnston, Louis Riel S.D. (2002)
Linda Ross, Brandon S.D. (2015)
Patty Wiebe, Border Land S.D. (2018)
Floyd Martens, Mountain View S.D. (2006)
Alison Bourrier, association staff

Resolutions & Policy Committee

Mandate: is responsible for the association`s policy development process and seeks to enhance the association's advocacy work on behalf of member school boards.


Floyd Martens, Mountain View (First Past President)
Yolande Dupuis, DSFM (Second Past President)
Patty Wiebe, Border Land (February 2019)
Cheryl Smukowich, St. James-Assiniboia (February 2019)
Vaughn Wadelius, Kelsey S.D. (August 2020)
Josh Watt, association staff

External Committees & Organizations

External committees are those structured by agencies and organizations other than MSBA. These committees may be either permanent or ad hoc in nature. Their mandates, terms of reference, and compositions are determined by the sponsoring agency/organization.
Celebration of Excellence in Teaching Selection Committee Lena Kublick, Lord Selkirk S.D.
Certificate in School Leadership Review Committee Janis Arnold, association staff
Certificate Review Committee Patricia Wiebe, Border Land S.D. (December 2010)
Holly Hunter, St. James-Assiniboia S.D. (January 2020)
Justin Rempel, association staff (June 2019)
(Alternate) Elizabeth Mitchell, association staff (June 2019)
Manitoba Education for Sustainable Development Working Group Josh Watt, association staff
Manitoba High Schools Athletic Association Cheryl Smukowich, St. James-Assiniboia S.D. (August 2020)
Manitoba Rural Learning Consortium Kayla Moore, Fort La Bosse S.D. (August 2020)
Post-secondary Education Advisory Committee Josh Watt, association staff
Provincial Evaluations Committee Morgan Whiteway, association staff
Student Services/Inclusive Education Consultation Committee Arlene Reid, Winnipeg S.D. (November 2018)
Teacher Education Advisory Committee (RRC) Janis Arnold, association staff
Teaching Assistant Advisory Committee (RRC) Janis Arnold, association staff