The Manitoba School Boards Association is legally chartered under a provincial statute, The Manitoba School Boards Association Act, which outlines its governance structure. Further detail is found in the association's by-laws (Section B of the "Executive Manual") and policies.

Policy direction is established through the resolutions process at the Manitoba School Boards Association's Annual Convention. The Convention also provides an opportunity for the membership to elect the Association's 11-member Provincial Executive, which governs the Association between conventions.

The Executive meets monthly to consider ongoing and emerging issues impacting educational governance, and to work to further the mission and goals of the organization. The Executive has established a number of standing committees to help it fulfill its mandate in this regard, and may appoint ad hoc committees to deal with specific matters as the need arises.

In addition to the Annual Convention and Executive meetings, one or more series of regional meetings are also held each year. These meetings are attended by trustees from school boards in specific areas of the province—one of the Manitoba School Boards Association's six geographical regions. These meetings provide a venue for in-depth discussions and the exchange of ideas among trustees from school boards that, due to geography and circumstance, often share many similar concerns and experiences.

Provincial Executive 2024-2025

Sandy Nemeth

Louis Riel S.D.

Sandra Lethbridge

Vice-President (+6000)
St. James-Assiniboia S.D.

Leah Klassen

Vice-President (<6000)
Garden Valley S.D.

Nicole Chaske

Director Region 1
Fort La Bosse S.D.

Ashley Lachance

Director Region 2
Prairie Rose S.D.

Paul Magnan

Director Region 3
Sunrise S.D.

Timothy Davis

Director Region 4
Flin Flon S.D.

Greg McFarlane

Director Region 5
Seven Oaks S.D.

Irene Nordheim

Director Region 5
Louis Riel S.D.

Ann Evangelista

 Director Region 6
Winnipeg S.D.

Alan Campbell

Past President
Interlake S.D.