Convention 2022


58th Annual Convention

March 11, 2022 (Virtual Event)

The Manitoba School Boards Association’s 58th Annual Convention was held virtually as a one-day event on Friday, March 11, 2022. The theme selected was, "Strong today, Stronger tomorrow, Strongest together".

Want to refresh your memory about something that happened at this year's Convention? We've posted some video highlights:

  • Minister of Education and Early Childhood Learning, Hon. Wayne Ewasko,
  • CSBA President Laurie French, and the
  • Keynote panel presentation: Building the Future of Education.

Other components of the annual meeting were the elections for Provincial Executive positions, debate and voting on resolutions, and addresses from both the Association’s president and executive director.

Recognition of Achievement

Each year at its Annual Convention, the Association honours long-serving trustees, exemplary educators and inspiring students.

The decision was made to pause the presentation of the 2022 Student Citizenship Awards. However the 2022 program included the recognition of long-serving trustees and the presentation of the Presidents’ Council Award. Click here for more information about these awards.


Planning CommitteeNominating CommitteeResolutions Committee
Lena Kublick, Chair, Lord SelkirkFloyd Martens, Mountain ViewFloyd Martens, Mountain View
Margaret Walker, Fort La Bosse Yolande Dupuis, DSFMYolande Dupuis, DSFM
Vaughn Wadelius, KelseyGarry Draper, Fort La BossePatty Wiebe, Border Land
Penny Helgason, EvergreenCheryl Smukowich, St. James-Assiniboia
Charlene Geiler, Red River ValleyVaughn Wadelius, Kelsey
Josh Watt, MSBA Staff
Karen Harrington, MSBA Staff



Charity of Choice

Our very popular raffle will be be back in the future. In the meantime, we encourage individuals to reach out and support their charity of choice during these difficult times.