Seven Outstanding Educators Receive Manitoba’s Excellence in Education Awards

News from Broadway
[April 21, 2023] Seven outstanding educators have received Manitoba’s Excellence in Education Awards in recognition of their outstanding educational practices that have a deep, lasting impact on student achievement, engagement and well-being, Education and Early Childhood Learning Minister Wayne Ewasko announced today.

“I’m pleased to recognize these extraordinary educators who foster stimulating, purposeful learning environments that respond to their students’ needs and support their intellectual, social, emotional and physical development,” said Ewasko. “Congratulations to this year’s recipients.”

This year, seven recipients were selected to receive Manitoba’s Excellence in Education Awards in the following categories:

  • Teaching Excellence Award
    • Amanda Havixbeck, Stevenson-Britannia Elementary School, St. James-Assiniboia School Division;
    • Sabrina Smaczylo, Holy Cross School; and
    • Calvin Yong, École Charleswood School, Pembina Trails School Division
  • Outstanding New Teacher Award
    • Jessica Canning, Crocus Plains Regional Secondary School, Brandon School Division
  • Outstanding Team Collaboration Award
    • Claire Aiello and Jacqueline Morrison Demchuk, Balmoral Hall School
  • Premier’s Award for Excellence in Education
    • Terri Grant, Jameswood Alternative School, St. James-Assiniboia School Division

The award recipients were chosen by a selection committee made up of representatives from the Manitoba School Boards Association, the Manitoba Association of Parent Councils, the Manitoba Federation of Independent Schools and the Department of Education and Early Childhood Learning.

– 30 –