Outstanding Educators Recognized at Manitoba’s Excellence in Education Awards

News from Broadway

{April 22, 2022] The Manitoba government is recognizing the outstanding contributions of Manitoban kindergarten to Grade 12 educators at the annual Excellence in Education awards, Education and Early Childhood Learning Minister Wayne Ewasko announced today.

“Manitoba’s educators have faced significant professional challenges in recent years because of the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic,” said Ewasko. “These award recipients are well-deserving educators who, through their passion and dedication, foster the development of students’ full potential by creating a rich learning environment through outstanding educational practices. Congratulations to this year’s recipients.”

Manitoba’s Excellence in Education Awards celebrate and recognize the outstanding contributions of the province’s K to 12 educators and receiving a nomination is a form of significant recognition and acknowledgement of an educator’s efforts, noted the minister.

This year, 39 educators from across the province were nominated for Excellence in Education Awards. Eight recipients were selected to receive this year’s awards in the following categories: 

  • Teaching Excellence Awards
    • Kelly Hiebert, Westwood Collegiate, St. James-Assiniboia School Division
    • Shannon Siemens, Brooklands School, St. James-Assiniboia School Division
    • Amanda Tetrault, École River Heights School, Winnipeg School Division
  • Outstanding New Teacher Award
    • Jenny Horel, Whyte Ridge Elementary, Pembina Trails School Division
  • Outstanding Team Collaboration Award
    • Brett Geisel, James Kostuchuk and Shannon Mulvey, Portage Collegiate Institute, Portage la Prairie School Division
  • Premier’s Award for Excellence in Education
    • Marie Klassen, Donwood School, River East Transcona School Division

To determine the award recipients, a selection committee was formed with representatives from the Manitoba School Boards Association, the Manitoba Association for Parent Councils, the Manitoba Federation of Independent Schools and Manitoba Education and Early Childhood Learning.

– 30 –