The Manitoba Schools Boards Association has established a number of internal standing committees to assist with the regular work of the association. As well, the association is represented on many external standing committees, to ensure that the perspectives of school boards are heard and considered whenever decisions affecting students, schools or education are made. Most committee appointments are for a two-year term, and with some exceptions, committee members are eligible to serve a maximum of two consecutive terms.

This section contains the mandates of the association's standing committees, in alphabetical order, along with the current membership of both internal and external committees. The date of each member's initial appointment is also indicated.

Interested in volunteering for a committee? Download the Committee Volunteer Form, complete it, and submit it as indicated on the form.


Mandate: the Aboriginal and Indigenous Education Planning Committee works in support of the association's goal to contribute to improved educational outcomes for aboriginal learners.


Nicole Chaske, Fort la Bosse S.D. (November 2017)
Lena Kublick (Executive Liaison), Lord Selkirk S.D. (February 2015)
Penny Helgason, Evergreen S.D. (December 2018)
Murray Skeavington, Flin Flon S.D. (November 2018)
Lisa Makwebak, Park West S.D. (August 2020)


Mandate: to plan and oversee the delivery of the annual convention of the association. In fulfilling its mandate, the committee will work to advance association objectives and priorities, as established through policy and/or identified by the provincial executive.


Louise Johnston, Louis Riel S.D. (October 2017)
Lena Kublick, Lord Selkirk S.D. (September 2018)
Vaughn Wadelius, Kelsey S.D. (September 2018)
Kristine Janz, Prairie Spirit S.D. (June 2019)
Charlene Geiler, Red River Valley S.D. (June 2019)
Janis Arnold, association staff


Mandate: to oversee and to manage the MSBA/MTS jointly trusteed Dental Plan for school divisions/districts personnel.


Julie Fisher, Pembina Trails S.D. (December 2012)
Patricia Wiebe, Border Land S.D. (March 2013)
Yolande Dupuis, DSFM (January 2015)
Jerry Sodomlak, River East Transcona (January 2015)
Morgan Whiteway, association staff


Mandate: to oversee all material aspects of the association`s financial reporting, control and finance functions.

Members: all members of the provincial executive


Mandate: to oversee and manage the operation of the Manitoba Schools Insurance (MSI).


Murray McLenehan, Portage la Prairie S.D. (April 2013)
Derek Dabee, Seven Oaks S.D. (June 2011)
Yolande Dupuis, DSFM (December 2010)
Kathleen McMillan, Pembina Trails S.D. (March 2021)
Fred Kelesnik, Red River Valley S.D. (December 2018)
Darren Thomas, association staff


Mandate: to assist participating member school divisions by defraying or covering the legal costs (excluding damages) involved in: protecting and furthering management rights/responsibilities, controlling salary considerations, or other employee/labour matters of provincial or regional implication.


Tim Davis, Flin Flon S.D. (term expires 2021)
Rod Brownlee, Portage la Prairie S.D. (term expires 2022)
Kathleen McMillan, Pembina Trails S.D. (term expires 2021)
Gary Nelson, Seine River S.D. (term expires 2022)
Marg Walker, Fort La Bosse S.D. (term expires 2022)
Chris Broughton, Winnipeg S.D. (term expires 2022)
Justin Rempel, association staff


Mandate: to ensure that there is at least one qualified candidate who has consented to allow his/her name to stand for each of the following positions at the annual convention of the association: president, vice-president (6,000 students or more), vice-president (fewer than 6,000 students), and regional directors. Committee is comprised of the three (3) most recent past presidents who continue to serve as trustees.


Floyd Martens, Mountain View S.D. (First Past President)
Yolande Dupuis, DSFM (Second Past President)
Garry Draper, Fort La Bosse S.D. (Third Past President)


Mandate: responsible for the overall administration, maintenance and operation of the MSBA Non-Teaching Employees Pension Fund, the Plan and the Administration Account as a Board of Trustees.


Colleen Carswell, River East Transcona S.D. (1999)
Louise Johnston, Louis Riel S.D. (2002)
Linda Ross, Brandon S.D. (2015)
Patty Wiebe, Border Land S.D. (2018)
Floyd Martens, Mountain View S.D. (2006)
Alison Bourrier, association staff


Mandate: is responsible for the association`s policy development process and seeks to enhance the association's advocacy work on behalf of member school boards.


Floyd Martens, Mountain View (First Past President)
Yolande Dupuis, DSFM (Second Past President)
Patty Wiebe, Border Land (February 2019)
Cheryl Smukowich, St. James-Assiniboia (February 2019)
Vaughn Wadelius, Kelsey S.D. (August 2020)
Heather Demetrioff, association staff
Josh Watt, association staff

External Committees & Organizations

External committees are those structured by agencies and organizations other than MSBA. These committees may be either permanent or ad hoc in nature. Their mandates, terms of reference, and compositions are determined by the sponsoring agency/organization.

Celebration of Excellence in Teaching Selection Committee Lena Kublick, Lord Selkirk S.D.
Certificate in School Leadership Review Committee Janis Arnold, association staff
Certificate Review Committee Patricia Wiebe, Border Land S.D. (December 2010)
Holly Hunter, St. James-Assiniboia S.D. (January 2020)
Justin Rempel, association staff (June 2019)
(Alternate) Elizabeth Mitchell, association staff (June 2019)
Manitoba Education for Sustainable Development Working Group Josh Watt, association staff
Manitoba High Schools Athletic Association Cheryl Smukowich, St. James-Assiniboia S.D. (August 2020)
Manitoba Rural Learning Consortium Kayla Moore, Fort La Bosse S.D. (August 2020)
Post-secondary Education Advisory Committee Josh Watt, association staff
Provincial Evaluations Committee Morgan Whiteway, association staff
Provincial Healthy Child Advisory Committee & Educaring Sub-Committee Josh Watt, association staff
Student Services/Inclusive Education Consultation Committee Arlene Reid, Winnipeg S.D. (November 2018)
Teacher Education Advisory Committee (RRC) Janis Arnold, association staff
Teaching Assistant Advisory Committee (RRC) Janis Arnold, association staff


Statement of Integrity
Committee Volunteer Form
Committee Protocols & Procedures

Contact Us
Privacy & Legal  |  All Rights Reserved.
© 2021 Manitoba School Boards Association

Leadership, Advocacy and Service for Manitoba's Public School Boards