Awards & Recognition Programs


Recognition & Award Recipients

Association Awards

The Manitoba School Boards Association sponsors several awards that are presented each year.

  • Student Citizenship Awards (six individual and one group) recognize outstanding young people throughout Manitoba who are active participants in their communities and schools. There are no age or grade restrictions on this award; all students in regular attendance in the K-12 program at a Manitoba public school are eligible.
  • The Presidents' Council Award celebrates exemplary service and outstanding achievement, innovative thinking and personal initiative, and lasting and pervasive impact in the field of public education.
  • Long Service Trustee Recognition honours trustees with 12, 16 or 20 years of school board service.

Information on nomination procedures and deadlines is distributed to school boards annually.

Mark Dickof Memorial Scholarship Award

The Mark Dickof Memorial Scholarship Award has been established to recognize the important role of mental health leadership and advocacy among youths aged 14 to 18 at the secondary school level in Manitoba, in terms of promoting action, awareness and greater sensitivity to / de-stigmatization of mental health and wellbeing, either within their school, local or provincial communities. Instituted by Winnipeg City Councillor Brian Mayes, in partnership with the Manitoba School Boards Association and the Canadian Mental Health Association (Manitoba Chapter), the award will be presented annually to a student or team of students in the public education system according to two general categories: urban (Winnipeg) and rural/northern, with each category qualifying for one (1) $250.00 prize each year.

Application forms will be posted on this website when they become available each year in the late winter/early spring.