Convention 2019

Planning Committee

Louise Johnston, Louis Riel, Chair
Cheryl Zelenitsky, Evergreen
Lena Kublick, Lord Selkirk
Vaughn Wadelius, Kelsey
Heather Demetrioff, staff

Nominating Committee

Yolande Dupuis, DSFM
Ruth Ann Furgala, Evergreen
Garry Draper, Fort La Bosse

Resolutions Committee

Wendy Menzies, Beautiful Plains
Floyd Martens, Mountain View
Yolande Dupuis, DSFM

Leadership, Service and Advocacy: Local Voices, Local Choices

March 14 & 15, 2019 - Delta Winnipeg

local voices, local choices

The theme for the association's 2019 convention is Leadership, Service and Advocacy: Local Voices, Local Choices. Convention delegates will explore a fundamental responsibility of school boards:  ensuring that the schools they govern provide the programming, supports and services all students need, in a way that is responsive to and reflective of the educational priorities of local communities.

Through a combination of thought-provoking plenary sessions and workshops, delegates will deepen their understanding about the voices they need to hear, and the choices they need to make, for schools and communities.


The 2019 Convention Planning Committee is pleased to announce Mike Lipkin as our opening keynote speaker on Thursday, March 14. He is the founder and president of Environics/Lipkin, where he uses social values research to offer a powerful blend of ideas and principles that help clients achieve remarkable results.

The first day of convention will be devoted exclusively to professional development. The business of the association, including elections, will be held on the second day.

Recognition of Achievement

Each year at its annual covention, the association honours long-serving trustees, exemplary educators and inspiring students. Click on the link to learn more about the association's recognition and awards program.


2019 Record of Proceedings
Convention Program
Candidate Profiles
Resolutions and Special Business
Call for Nominations and Resolutions
Nominations Received
Call for Workshop Proposals
Reserving Hotel Room Procedures
Recognition and Awards Information Package

Key Dates

Registration Deadline: March 1

Nomination Deadline: Floor of Convention, Call to Order: Thursday, March 14

Charity of Choice

The Sunshine Fund will be the recipient of the monies raised by our very popular raffle. Click here for information on how boards can participate.

Contact Us
Privacy & Legal  |  All Rights Reserved.
© 2019 Manitoba School Boards Association

Leadership, Advocacy and Service for Manitoba's Public School Boards