Convention 2017

Planning Committee

Sandy Lethbridge - Chair, St. James-Assiniboia
Cheryl Zelenitsky, Evergreen
Sandy Nemeth, Louis Riel
Carole Black, Rolling River
Michel Boucher, DSFM

Nominating Committee

Floyd Martens - Chair, Mountain View
Fran Frederickson, Interlake
Hugh Coburn, Louis Riel
Yolande Dupuis, DSFM

Resolutions Committee

Vaughn Wadelius - Chair, Kelsey
Wendy Menzies, Beautiful Plains
Jean Oliver, Lord Selkirk
Michel Boucher, DSFM
Floyd Martens, Mountain View
Hugh Coburn, Louis Riel

The Effectiveness Equation: Governing for Student Success

March 16 to 18, 2017 - Delta Winnipeg

convention 216

The Manitoba School Boards Association’s Standards for Effective and Efficient School Board Governance—E2G—is predicated on a simple belief:  optimally functioning school boards govern effectively by meeting the needs of all students, and they govern efficiently by empowering others to administer and manage the system for which they are ultimately accountable.

The Association’s 2017 Convention will take a closer look at the effectiveness side of this equation. Specifically, it will look at ways critical board-level responsibilities—community engagement, fiscal management, and nurturing a positive culture and climate—can have a positive impact on school and classroom-level outcomes.

Recognition of Achievement

Each year at its annual covention, the association honours exemplary programs, educators and students in an evening dedicated to celebrating our successes. In addition, individuals who have devoted many years to serving the interests of public education as school trustees are formally recognized during the convention. Click on the link below (fillable form PDF) for an award/recognition application form.

  • Student Citizenship Awards (six individual and one group) recognize outstanding young people throughout Manitoba who are active participants in their communities and schools. (See note below)
  • The Premier Award for School Board Innovation recognizes educational innovations and improvements advanced or directed by boards of education to support and/or enhance student achievement.
  • The Presidents' Council Award celebrates exemplary service and outstanding achievement, innovative thinking and personal initiative, and lasting and pervasive impact in the field of public education.
  • Long Service Trustee Recognition honours individuals with 12, 16 or 20 years of school board service.

Individual students cannot apply for the student citizenship awards. Only nominations endorsed by the local school board will be considered.


Message from Sarah Guillemard, MLA re Celebration of Success
2017 Resolutions
Convention Program
Convention Schedule
Call for Nominations & Resolutions
Candidate Profiles
Celebration of Success
Premier Award Directory
Stephen Hansen Presentations
Floyd Martens Presentation
Floyd Martens - Notes
2017 Record of Proceedings

Key Dates

Resolutions Deadline: January 3, 2017 (Tuesday)

All Recognition and Award Programs: January 27, 2017 (Friday)

Nomination Deadline: Floor of Convention, Call to Order: March 17, 2017 (Friday)

Charity of Choice

First Steps Feeding Manitoba`s Hungry Babies will be the recipient of the monies raised by our very popular raffle. Click here for information on how boards can participate.

Contact Us
Privacy & Legal  |  All Rights Reserved.
© 2018 Manitoba School Boards Association

Leadership, Advocacy and Service for Manitoba's Public School Boards